Sunday Sacrament:Communion

5 May

“I know God won’t give me anything I can’t handle. I just wish he didn’t trust me so much.”
― Mother Teresa
**************
Today at mass, I was pleasantly surprised with a First Communion celebration. About thirty young, shiny faces processed to the front of the church. The girls all in white Lacey dresses with veils or flowers in their hair, and the boys in miniature suits and ties. They looked so small, yet so serious.

A few tears slipped down my face as I remembered, what seems like yesterday, when my own sons made their First Communion. The congregation was part of the celebration and applauded these young people after the service today. A wonderful sense of community, “an act or instance of sharing.”

A sense of community can bolster your faith when times are tough, and witnessing and being a part of your community is so important. “I know God won’t give me anything I can’t handle, I just wish he didn’t trust me so much” either.

COMMUNION
Definition
1 : an act or instance of sharing
2 a capitalized : a Christian sacrament in which consecrated bread and wine are consumed as memorials of Christ’s death or as symbols for the realization of a spiritual union between Christ and communicant or as the body and blood of Christ
b : the act of receiving Communion
c capitalized : the part of a Communion service in which the sacrament is received
3 : intimate fellowship or rapport : communication
4 : a body of Christians having a common faith and discipline <the Anglican having a common faith and discipline

20140504-224817.jpg

20140504-224836.jpg

Leave a comment