Sunday Sermon and Other Stuff: Many are Called but Few Are Chosen

13 Oct

“People pay for what they do, and still more for what they have allowed themselves to become. And they pay for it very simply; by the lives they lead.”
― James Baldwin
*************
Today’s Gospel was the parable of the king who invited guests to a feast and they refused to come, and even harmed the messengers. Then, the king told the servants to invite strangers. Those people came and honored the king.

Father gave his interpretation, but here’s mine. Everyone is invited to the banquet. We all have choices. We can attend and be honorable and respectful to the king and others, or we can be selfish and think only about ourselves. Our actions define who we are. Makes you think! Well, at least made me think.

Gospel MT 22:1-14
Jesus again in reply spoke to the chief priests and elders of the people
in parables, saying,
“The kingdom of heaven may be likened to a king
who gave a wedding feast for his son.
He dispatched his servants
to summon the invited guests to the feast,
but they refused to come.
.0**************

On a less serious note, it was a sunny, cool Sunday morning. I stopped at Sprouts after Mass to get some veggies and nuts and stuff. I love those big barrels of things to choose from. It doesn’t take much to excite me, so when I checked out and it was only $17 for all my goodies, I was elated.

IMG_1216.JPG
Look at all these yummy things, granola, cranberries, sunflower seeds, etc, so colorful. I didn’t even buy chocolate…it wasn’t on sale, or I would have been downright giddy.

When I got home, I went for a long walk, then came home and planted my rose bush and did some chores around the house., and had a late lunch.Around 5pm, the temperature dropped, the clouds rolled in, and it started to mist. So, what did I do? I went out for another walk in the mist, and bumped into my neighbor, Diane, who is almost as crazy as I am.

Just another Sunday, just trying to follow the right path, just trying to get by.

IMG_1225.JPG

One Response to “Sunday Sermon and Other Stuff: Many are Called but Few Are Chosen”

  1. agriffith1 October 13, 2014 at 10:25 pm #

    Hello old friend,

    Re: getting outdoors. Saturday: 2 mile walk. Sunday: 4 mile bike ride with hubby. Today: 3 mile windy walk. Attitude: better. Church: hubby convinced me to watch Joel instead. Wednesday: will I or won’t I rejoin the choir? It’s a way to have people to go to church with and not feel I’m singing too loud.

Leave a Reply

