Tuesday:Tip of the Day

19 Nov

“When we think we’re multitasking we’re actually multiswitching. That is what the brain is very good at doing – quickly diverting its attention from one place to the next. We think we’re being productive. We are, indeed, being busy. But in reality we’re simply giving ourselves extra work.”
― Michael Harris
**************
Sometimes I find myself doing several things at the same time. You might call it multitasking, but I call it multi procrastinating. I really don’t get a lot done, but I seriously avoid doing a lot of important tasks, looking very busy while I’m doing it.

I started laughing to myself the other day when I had the TV on, watching a recorded Joel Osteen. He had a very profound message. I just don’t remember what it was. I was eating my oatmeal, sipping my tea, checking my email on my ipad, and talking to my mom on my cell phone. That’s not multitasking. That’s just crazy…and avoiding going upstairs to work on painting my ornaments.

IMG_1811.JPG
So, here’s the tip. Do not multitask. Just do one thing at a time, giving it all your attention. Do as I say, not as I do. I’m watching NCIS, writing my blog, eating dinner and washing dishes during commercials.

Old dogs…….. We don’t learn new tricks, but we can perform several old ones at the same time.

IMG_1824.JPG

IMG_1823.JPG

IMG_1822.JPG

3 Responses to “Tuesday:Tip of the Day”

  1. agriffith1 November 19, 2014 at 4:38 am #

    I have resorted to a schedule on days with wide open spaces. Ex. 8:00 Read/Meditate, 9:00 Laundry, 9:30 Call Cable Company. Otherwise, I multitask my day away and don’t do what really matters.

  2. Yoshiko November 19, 2014 at 7:24 am #

    Ha ha ha 😀 that is me who Multi-task too. No wonder things are always messed up.

    >

  3. gpcox November 19, 2014 at 12:32 pm #

    You’ve been watching me work – haven’t you!?! O_o

Leave a Reply

