Friday: Family, Friends and Surgery

13 Dec

Give yourself whatever gifts of time and rest you need to feel better – and know that you’re surrounded by caring thoughts and prayers and heartfelt wishes. Rest easy. Get well.
— Author Unknown
****************
I had some minor out- patient surgery on my left leg today. After a history of blood clots and a pulmonary embolism last year, I was a little nervous. Heck, I was VERY nervous. I’ve been in the emergency room a few too many times to take anything lightly.

So this morning, I couldn’t sleep, so I went for a long walk with Diane. I won’t be taking long brisk walks for a little while. So, after my 1 1/2 hour walk and a cup of tea, I did what every nervous patient would do to prepare for surgery. I scrubbed the house, put away all the clutter, made the bed, wiped down the kitchen, and vacuumed the entire house from stem to stern. Nervous energy. ( I know what a stern is, but what is a stem? )

IMG_2195.JPG

What made the situation less scary was all the love, friendship and well wishes from friends and family. Lynne drove me to the hospital and stayed with me. She brought me something for dinner, and took care of me like a sister. My neighbor Diane offered to have me stay in her guest room, and my mom and sister and all my friends were praying and sending well wishes. How lucky am I? I am truly blessed.

Part of the pre-op instructions was taking a Valium one hour before the procedure and one right before. I HATE any medication that makes you groggy or out of complete control, but it wasn’t too bad. I was just tired and sleepy afterwards. The most painful part was the zillion injections to numb the entire leg. I have a pretty good pain threshold, and the doctor said I was amazing. I asked him if he gets any screamers, and he said,”Oh yes. Mostly the men.”

IMG_2197.JPG

(Just like the quote) When I got home, I gave myself the gift of rest and knew I was surrounded by caring thoughts and prayers and heartfelt wishes.

(Of course…I couldn’t miss writing my blog. This is my life-line to the world and source of continuity.)

IMG_2203.JPG

One Response to “Friday: Family, Friends and Surgery”

  1. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap December 13, 2014 at 4:18 pm #

    So glad for you it’s over. I’m well aware of how scary a history of clots/PE can be. Thankfully, you’re alive to share about it with us. Wishing you very happy peaceful holiday time. Love, Paulette

Leave a Reply

