Friday:From Your Friends at Towne Creek ….Thank You

20 Dec

I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought, and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder. ~G.K. Chesterton
************
A couple of weeks ago, I wrote a blog about my senior friends at Towne Creek. TAPS, the local transportation system for McKinney, had cancelled their bus route, leaving many senior residents without transportation. Several of these lovely ladies asked for my help. I told them that all I could to is enlist my friends, post a plea for support on Facebook, and let the friendship networking do its magic.

I posted a video on my blog and Facebook page, but I also had the opportunity to speak to the Mayor’s wife, Donna Loughmiller, at the tree lighting ceremony on the Square. She said she would see what they could do to help. Several people sent emails, made call, and offered monetary support if needed. Well, long and short…their bus route was reinstated, and everyone is thrilled.

A few people tried to tell me that I was instrumental in getting this done, but all I did was share a few stories and post a video. All the friends, relatives, Towne Creek management, and neighbors who called and emailed TAPS made it happen. Thank you TAPS!

McKinney is a very loving and generous community. “It takes a village.” We certainly have a great village. Thank you to all who supported these seniors.
My sister, JoAnn, suggested that I also post a video of the happy, smiling seniors saying thank you. It’s easy to complain when things go wrong, but not everyone says thank you when the problem is resolved.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_2326.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_2327.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_2328.png

Leave a Reply

