Saturday: Some Sensational Holiday Tips and Ideas

21 Dec

“Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful. ”
― Norman Vincent Peale
************
TIP NUMBER ONE: Surround yourself with family, friends, and people you absolutely adore.

I picked up my son, Matt, from DFW late last night. His flight was delayed over an hour, but I never heard a complaint about it. He’s not a complainer, (Doesn’t take after his mother. Well, yes he does. Thank goodness.) it was so wonderful to see him, hug him, and smother him with Mamma smooches.

This morning, he planned on watching the Manchester United soccer match on TV, and I went to my writing group. What fun! We did a little critiquing, a lot of joking and laughing, then a gift giving extravaganza. I have the sweetest friends, and so talented. It’s days like this, and friends like these that make the holidays brighter, and the difficult, dark days a lot easier.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_2334.jpg
GIRLFRIENDS!
When I got home, Matt and I sat around watching TV, mostly the Illinois basketball game…they won in the final seconds…YESSSS! Then, we went to Blue Goose Cantina for dinner. I drove there and her drove home. I had a margarita. My policy…I don’t drive after even one drink. Good policy. That’s TIP NUMBER TWO.

Oh yes, the holiday ideas. I decorated the table with a few shiny plate chargers, and used nutcracker ornaments that I got on sale at Michael’s for $1 as napkin rings.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_22801.jpg
Look how pretty the table looks with a little glitz.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_2336.jpg
I also had some sparkly mirrored ornaments that I found on sale after Christmas a few years back, put them in a glass trifle bowl, and tossed in a few candy canes. Voila! Instant holiday magic.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_2337.jpg
I arranged some silk poinsettias in a milk glass bowl, and put out a few accessories, more holiday charm.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_2338.jpg
So, Christmas has waved it’s magic wand around my house and sprinkled holiday magic on my heart. Everything IS softer and more beautiful.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_2350.jpg

Leave a Reply

