Sunday Sermon and Such Things

22 Dec

“For each one of us, there is only one thing necessary: to fulfill our own destiny, according to God’s will, to be what God wants us to be.”
― Thomas Merton, No Man Is an Island
*****************
Today’s Gospel was about acceptance. The Angel Gabriel told the Virgin Mary that she was going to become the mother of Jesus. She didn’t understand, but accepted God’s plan.
******************

The story of the Annunciation calls to our attention God’s wondrous action in human history. God chose a human person to give birth to his Son so that all humanity would know God’s salvation. Mary, already full of God’s grace, was able to cooperate in this great plan for our salvation. Thus Jesus was born as one of us, fully human and also fully divine. This is the mystery we prepare to celebrate at Christmas, the mystery of the Incarnation. In the model of Mary, we pray that we will be people of faith who recognize God’s saving plan for us and are able respond with obedience.

********************
Father Jovita reminded us that we should try to be accepting and welcome what we may not understand. It isn’t always easy, but we have to realize that God has a plan for us. I’d like to say that I will follow his advice, but I will say that I will do my best.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_2363.jpg
After Mass, I had a chance to chat with a few people that now have become friends. Just when I thought my life was spinning out of control like a roller coaster in the dark, my family, new friends and old friends were placed in my path to stop the spinning.

When I came home, Matt was here waiting. We ate breakfast and spent the day together. Joe and Lindsay are on their way. My family will be here for Christmas, we’ll be together. It may only be a few days, but I feel so blessed. I’m not sure what God has planned, but I have to try and accept that there is something better and brighter ahead.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_2361.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2014/12/img_2360.jpg

Leave a Reply

