Saturday:Resetting the Clocks

4 Jan

“I’ve read somewhere in a book when something happens that is unbearable to you, sometimes, time stops. Like your inner clock just stops working, even if the world keeps spinning you will stand still for the rest of your life.”
― Katja Michael, She Came at Dawn
**************

I seem to find symbolism in everything. Maybe it’s just the writer in me, but inspirational signs or interesting people always seem pop into my life. Maybe that old expression is true, “If you are looking for a sign, this is it!” I guess I’m always looking for one.

Last night, we had a few thunder-boomers here in McKinney. My power flickered on and off, on and off, for an hour. I reset the clocks on the stove, but then, the power went out completely. Ah, a sign! Just go to bed.

When I woke up this morning, the clocks were all blinking and the thermostats were all discombobulated. Now, to find my glasses and try to figure out how to reset all the “blanking” blinking appliances. It’s a new house, and everything is totally different. While I quietly cursed under my breath, it occurred to me, this is another symbol or metaphor in my long list of daily signs.

Starting a new life, a new chapter, is never easy. Sometimes we have to reset the clocks, reprogram the thermostats, and keep plugging away. I thought it was funny because this all happened around New Year’s. I already had it in my mind that I needed to start a new chapter in my life with the new year. My inspirational word and mantra for 2015 is RENEWAL. Maybe it should be…RESET.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2015/01/img_2542.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2015/01/img_2541.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2015/01/img_2543.jpg

2 Responses to “Saturday:Resetting the Clocks”

  1. Katja Michael January 7, 2015 at 9:17 am #

    It’s always a nice feeling to inspire people and be inspired. And yes, maybe it is the writer in you. Keep going with your words and thoughts.

    • toniandrukaitis January 7, 2015 at 6:16 pm #

      Thank you for your kind words. I especially get inspired by other writers. You keep writing too.

Leave a Reply

