Tuesday Tip of the Day: Music Gets You Moving

7 Jan

Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work.”
― Aristotle
**********
Tuesday is Zumba day. My neighbor, Diane, and I had a great work out at the 8:30 morning class. I get so pumped up with the Latin music, dancing, and wiggling that I am energized for the whole day. When I got home, I did a few chores, then still having my gym shoes on, I went out for a brisk one hour walk. It’s supposed to get really cold for the next few days, so good time to get out,

While I was out walking, I couldn’t help but admire the many workmen building and bricking the new houses down the street. They always have their music blasting from their trucks, and they’re out there all day long, weekends and holidays, freezing weather and sweltering heat. Sometimes they sing along, and always seem cheerful. Does the music get them through the long hard days? You bet it does!

When I got home, I did a couple of loads of laundry, tidied up the kitchen, cleaned four bathrooms, and straightened up my craft room. I was motivated.

Here’s a quick video. One guy was down on the ground tossing up piles of bricks to the guy up on the scaffolding. They do this for hours on end. The music blares and the house gets built.

Music gets you moving, and when the music blares, the house gets built.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2015/01/img_2589.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/48d/44567723/files/2015/01/img_2588.jpg

3 Responses to “Tuesday Tip of the Day: Music Gets You Moving”

  1. Jessie Stracener January 7, 2015 at 1:42 pm #

    They talked about motivational music in my birthing class last night. I am little excited to be thinking about that. I think Music really does set the mood.

    • toniandrukaitis January 7, 2015 at 6:29 pm #

      Congratulations! Sounds
      Ike you are having a baby. How great to have music for the experience. I learned a LOT in birthing classes some 30 years ago that I still use today. The best tip ever was the pinch above the lip for leg cramps. I use that all the time and have told everyone I know when they mention leg cramps. It works. Have a great day.

      I tried looking up your site and it said no longer exists?

      • Jessie Stracener January 7, 2015 at 11:32 pm #

        Huh, well it does so that is odd. Thanks for letting me know. I will see if I can’t figure out the problem.

        And Yes! I am having a little boy in May.

Leave a Reply

