Friday: Funny Story

24 Jan

“Everybody is wrong about everything, just about all the time.”
― Chuck Klosterman
*****************
Ok, I was saving this funny story for a rainy day. It rained all day yesterday, and today it was sunny, but I’ll share it anyway.

It all started a couple of months before Christmas, I got a phone call from my friend, Magda, who said, “Toni, I got a call from this elderly gentleman who is looking for someone who does china painting. I know you paint on glass, but do you paint on china?” I told her that I hadn’t before, but maybe I could give it a try.

She went on to explain, “Dan had a local artist paint bluebonnets on a special porcelain Christmas gift for his wife every year. He has been doing this for over thirty years. She passed away last year, but he wants to continue the tradition.”

Well, I thought to myself, poor dear, sweet man. His wife passed away and he wants to continue honoring her memory by having this gift made every year. Of course I would do it. I called Dan and we agreed to meet so I could see what he wanted me to paint. I met him at Snug on the Square, and he brought a couple of small white porcelain pieces with painted bluebonnets inscribed with “Sue” on the front and “Love Dan” and the date on the back. He described the glass curio cabinet with the dozens of gifts lining the shelves, and how she treasured each one.

This broke my heart. I told Dan that I’d find a special white piece and paint it for him. I spent weeks scouring antique shops and resale stores looking for just the right object.

I painted a beautiful white fan shaped covered glass box and called Dan. He was pleased that I finished the piece before Christmas. I asked when he’d like to meet to pick it up. He said, “Sue is out of town until tomorrow, and I have my Rotary Club meeting on Friday. How about Friday morning?”

Did you catch the part about…SUE IS OUT OF TOWN? I thought Sue was dead! All this time, I thought I was helping this grieving elderly widower continue his longtime Christmas tradition. Sue wasn’t dead. The lady who used to paint the project for him passed away. Boy, did I feel silly!

I told my friends and family about my silly mix-up. I just laughed and said, “Well, Friday, I have to go meet Dan and give him his bluebonnet gift for his not so dead wife Sue.” I met Dan Friday morning, and showed him the piece He was so happy. He said, “Sue doesn’t have anything like this. She’s going to love it. Thank you!”

I never let on or told Dan that I thought his wife was dead. Some things are best left unsaid. But you have to admit, it was kind of funny. Next time I’m asked to paint something for a dead person, I’m going to make sure I heard the story correctly.
****************
“Everybody is wrong about everything, just about all the time.”
― Chuck Klosterman
****************
Yes, Chuck, I tend to agree.

2015/01/img_2339.jpg

2015/01/img_2340.jpg
Here’s Dan and the gift for his very much alive wife, Sue.

2015/01/img_2765.jpg

7 Responses to “Friday: Funny Story”

  1. M E Cheshier January 24, 2015 at 3:27 am #

    What a great story! By the way, your artwork turned out beautifully!

    • toniandrukaitis January 24, 2015 at 4:45 am #

      Thank you so much for your kind words.

      • M E Cheshier January 24, 2015 at 6:06 am #

        You are very welcome!

  2. Brenda Davis Harsham January 26, 2015 at 9:22 pm #

    Oh, Toni, that is a gorgeous fan you painted, and what a funny story of the misunderstanding. I bet he loves his wife all the more! LOL

  3. toniandrukaitis January 26, 2015 at 9:59 pm #

    Thank you Miss Brenda. It was kind of funny, at least after I stopped feeling foolish. I need to listen more closely. Have a great day.

  4. agriffith1 January 27, 2015 at 3:21 am #

    I hope you didn’t tell him about your blog! Ha ha!

    • toniandrukaitis January 27, 2015 at 3:53 am #

      No, I didn’t mention my blog. I don’t even know if he has a computer. It was kinda funny, wasn’t it?

Leave a Reply

