Friday Night Light and Firemen

14 Feb

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”
― Martin Luther King Jr., A Testament of Hope: The Essential Writings and Speeches
********
The other day, when I made my brownies for Creative Community, I made a double batch so I could take some over to Fire Station #2. When I arrived at the station, they didn’t have a call phone in the hall like they do at station #5. I tapped at a few windows and tapped on the door, but no one answerd. I walked around to the side and peeked in where the trucks were, but no one was in sight. Just as I was walking back to my car, an ambulance was returning to the station, so I flagged the guys down. They rolled down the window, and of course recognized me from my many visits. I’m glad I caught them or I would have had to drive over to station #5 later. (Or eat them all myself…oh no!)

I love the big smiles I get from the guys. I know it’s mostly because they love being appreciated, but a little chocolate never hurst.

IMG_3192
This evening, when I arrived home from an impromptu dinner with my friend Lynne, it was dark out. When I got out of my car, I noticed the wonderful rays of light and shadows made from the solar light on the lawn. It’s just an inexpensive $3 light from Lowes, but how amazing is the glow. Just goes to show, beauty and light can be found in the darkness. You just have to open your eyes and look.

IMG_3204
Isn’t that cool?

IMG_3201

IMG_3203

IMG_3202

Leave a Reply

