Montage Monday: A Week on a Peek and a Week’s Worth of Nails

17 Feb

“So when you’re cold
From the inside out
And don’t know what to do,
Remember love and friendship,
And warmth will come to you.”
― Stephen Cosgrove, Gnome from Nome
*****************
It was cold outside today! OK, not cold like…Chicago, Boston, New York, Green Bay or Alaska cold, but cold for McKinney. Saturday evening, I was sitting outside at Sweet Spot Bakery in a T-shirt, sipping iced tea and catching some rays. It was 77 degrees. Today, the high was maybe 33 or 34.

Normally, my neighbor Diane texts me the night before to say what time we are walking in the morning. She just said, “No walk for me. Too cold.” So, I did what any dedicated resolute walker would do. I didn’t set my alarm and slept in and stayed under the covers until 10 am. Ok, I’m wimpy, but let’s face it, I’ve been in Texas 11 years. I’m spoiled. But, I am from Chicago. 33 is Bermuda short weather to a native Chicagoan.

I finally slithered out from under the covers, made some hot tea, did some chores, checked my e-mail and Facebook, had lunch then bundled up like an Ewok Eskimo and went for my walk. It wasn’t too bad out, although I didn’t see any other nuts out there walking. (Neither rain, nor snow, nor gloom of day… Or whatever?)

So, here’s my week in a peek. A pink peek.

IMG_3253
So, wherever you are, I hope you are staying warm. Hopefully Spring is on the way.

Oh yes, a weeks worth of nails, lucky pennies, and big bucks. (Saving the world from flat tires.) Remember the time a few months back, when I found a $20 bill in the street? Well, last week, I found 3 lucky pennies, a dime, and a $50 bill and a $1bill. I looked up to the heavens and said, “Thank you Lord for your generosity and the money, but, you do realize that this is only Monopoly play money, don’t you?” No response!

IMG_3198

IMG_3255

IMG_3254

Leave a Reply

