Wednesday:Words of Wisdom~ Ashes to Ashes

19 Feb

Without peace, all other dreams vanish and are reduced to ashes.
~Jawaharial Nehru
*****************
I did something I haven’t done in quite a few years. I went to 5 o’clock Mass for Ash Wednesday. Going to church on Sunday has been very uplifting, but today I needed a little something extra. When I called Mom this morning, she asked me, “Why do we put ashes on our foreheads?” So, I looked it up on Google. There were a lot of explanations, but basically it’s to remind us we came from ashes, we return to ashes. There’s a lot more, but that’s my take on it.

When I arrived at St. Gabriel’s, I assumed it wouldn’t be very crowded at 5 pm because everyone would be at work. It was packed, even more than on Sunday, many familiar faces. I knelt down with my usual prayer in my head. “Thank you Lord for you strength, and getting me through each day.”

The strange part, well, maybe not strange as much as emotional part was that I also prayed, “I’m still in pain, still angry, I can’t forgive. PLEASE change my heart.” I used those words. “Change my heart.” Then the opening song started. I grabbed my pamphlet, turned to the opening song, and started to sing along. The song was, “Change our Hearts.” I didn’t see that coming.

Tears started streaming down my face. A sign? You know that old saying, “If you’re looking for a sign, this is it.” The signs are always there, it’s just hard to see when your eyes are full of tears. Anyway, I just kept singing, wiping away my tears in between stanzas. I was singing. I was happy. I was sad. Mass continued with dispensing of ashes, Communion, and more singing. I went home feeling stronger. It was a good day!

Rory Cooney
Refrain:

Change our hearts this time,

your word says it can be.

Change our minds this time,

your life could make us free.

We are the people your call sets apart.

Lord, this time change our hearts.

Verse 1.

Brought by your hand to the edge of our dreams,

one foot in paradise, one in the waste.

Drawn by your promises, still we are lured

by the shadows and the chains we leave behind. But …

Refrain

Verse 2.

Now as we watch you stretch out your hands,

offering abundances, fullness of joy,

your milk and honey seem distant, unreal,

when we have bread and water in our hands. But …

Refrain

Verse 3.

Show us the way that leads to your side,

over the mountains and sands of the soul.

Be for us manna, water from stone,

light which says we never walk alone. And …

Refrain

IMG_3271

IMG_3263
Without peace, all other dreams vanish and are reduced to ashes.
~Jawaharial Nehru

4 Responses to “Wednesday:Words of Wisdom~ Ashes to Ashes”

  1. Yoshiko February 19, 2015 at 6:00 am #

    Yea 🙂 may God’s peace be with you

    • toniandrukaitis February 19, 2015 at 5:10 pm #

      Thank you Yoshiko. I hope you are doing well and your family is well. Peace be with you also.

      • Yoshiko February 19, 2015 at 8:36 pm #

        Welcome Toni 🙂 Wish you well with peace too. Now, I am thriving to spend time with family and work.

  2. Lilka Raphael February 19, 2015 at 2:42 pm #

    Beautiful! 🙂 I love a good testimony.

Leave a Reply

