Saturday: Sometimes It’s the Little Things

22 Feb

“When we feel love and kindness toward others, it not only makes others feel loved and cared for, but it helps us also to develop inner happiness and peace.”
—The 14th Dalai Lama
*******************
A kind word, a small act of kindness, or a passing smile may not seem like much, but sometimes it can brighten up someone’s day. I know, I know, you already think I’m goofy, but I like to do little random acts of kindness whenever I can. I guess I’m just my mother’s daughter. I’ve learned from the master. Also, I don’t share these things with you because I’m looking for recognition or praise. I’m genuinely sharing some ideas with you, hoping that it may inspire you to give it a try. Maybe you already do, and I’d love to hear about it.

IMG_3304
Yesterday started out being a dark, gloomy, misty morning. I waited until the rain stopped later in the afternoon before I bundled up for my walk. It was still misting, but I put up my hood and ventured out for over an hour.

I was about five blocks away when I noticed the mail lady making her appointed rounds. It was pretty chilly out. I gave her a wave and thought, “That must be a tedious, lonely, thankless job.” I remember meeting Miss Penny when I first moved in. She was very nice when I stopped to ask her something about forwarding my mail.

When I got home from my walk and checked my mail box, it was still empty. I thought, “Hmm? What can I do for Miss Penny?” So, I ran into the house, grabbed a Dr. Pepper from the fridge, took the last mini cupcake that I was saving for my late afternoon tea time, and scurried back out to the mail box.

IMG_3286
I left a note saying, “Miss Penny, I saw you while I was out walking and thought you could use a treat.” Here is what I found later when I got my mail.

IMG_3288
“When we feel love and kindness toward others, it not only makes others feel loved and cared for, but it helps us also to develop inner happiness and peace.”

I think Miss Penny felt appreciated and perhaps this made her day a little brighter.

IMG_3303

Leave a Reply

