Sunday Sermon: Sacrifice

1 Mar


Zayn Malik

“Life is funny. Things change, people change, but you will always be you, so stay true to yourself and never sacrifice who you are for anyone.” 
― Zayn Malik
************
Finally!!! I ventured out of the house today. When I looked out the window to check out the streets this morning, they were a little icy in spots, but not too bad. I gleefully got dressed into my “Sunday goin’ to meetin” clothes and arrived safely, and early, I might add, for 9 o’clock Mass. I allowed extra time for road conditions, which allowed extra kneeling time to give thanks for A…getting me to church safely and B…getting me out of the house.
**************
Today’s sermon was about sacrifice. God asked Abraham to sacrifice his only son, Isaac. AND…Abraham was all set to do it!
Here’s my take on this story. Abraham was a much better person than I could ever be. Sorry! If God asked me to sacrifice my son, I would say, “No way! Take me instead!” I would sacrifice my life for my children, but I would NEVER sacrifice them for anything or anyone. But, then again, God would never ask me to do that. 
***************


Reading 1

GN 22:1-2, 9A, 10-13, 15-18

God put Abraham to the test.
He called to him, “Abraham!”
“Here I am!” he replied.
Then God said:
“Take your son Isaac, your only one, whom you love, 
and go to the land of Moriah.
There you shall offer him up as a holocaust 
on a height that I will point out to you.”
******************
I think the Gospel is telling us that great sacrifices are often asked of us, but we just have to be willing to do our best. 
******************
On a brighter note, here are the pictures that greet me every single morning. This is what I’d sacrifice my life for. I’m sure many of you feel the same. 



This is what I see with my eyes.(high school graduation pictures, so not current)



This is what I see in my heart. Seems like yesterday. Wasn’t it?



One Response to “Sunday Sermon: Sacrifice”

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham March 3, 2015 at 1:28 pm #

    What cuties your boys were! You’re a lucky lady!

Leave a Reply

