Wednesday: What’s Cookin’ Good Lookin’…Soup and an Ice Storm

5 Mar

It occurs to me now that I have never seen the ice-storm put upon canvas, and have not heard that any painter has tried to do it. I wonder why that is. Is it that paint cannot counterfeit the intense blaze of a sun-flooded jewel?

~Mark Twain

***********

What a whacky Wednesday. I got out for a drizzly walk this morning, and was able to run some errands before the rain got too bad. I stopped at the store as did most of North Texas in preparation for the big ice storm this evening. I wanted to make some potato soup. Perfect hearty soup for a cold stormy day.

Well, you know me. (Maybe you don’t, but now you do.) I can’t just make a little soup. I have to make a huge cauldron of soup. Besides that, I usually have to take a video and/or take pictures to go along with every endeavor.

http://youtu.be/vCAPuBMyYsw



(No recipe recipe…I don’t use one.)

I sautéed 2 large onions in a stick of butter in a really big pot. (Casuela)

Added about 5tbs flour to make a roux (I had to look up the spelling)

Add a can of chicken broth, just because I had one, it’s optional, use water

Add 5 cans of cream of chicken soup, or 2 great big ones and more water. (Maybe 5 cans…you’ll know)

1 can of green chile (they’re not hot)

1 can Rotelle diced tomato with chile (because I had one and adds a little zing)

5 lbs cooked diced potatoes with skins (because I’m lazy)

I can of corn optional. I like it.

Then lots of garlic powder, little salt and pepper to taste and the secret ingredient…about 2 or 3 tbs of lemon juice. Heat till bubbly and yummy.

THE END

Oh yes, the wine in the picture didn’t go in the soup. It went in a glass and my tummy.



By the time I was done with the soup, the ice was pelting at the windows. I looked outside and my neighbor Kathy, across the street, had just pulled into her garage. I grabbed a big bowl and aluminum foil and shared some of my soup with her. The walk up her driveway was like a skating rink. She just texted me that it was delicious. I will have to concur!



I’m ready! I have plenty of soup!

2 Responses to “Wednesday: What’s Cookin’ Good Lookin’…Soup and an Ice Storm”

  1. dancingpalmtrees March 17, 2015 at 11:57 pm #

    Looks delicious! Makes me hungry! New York got plenty of snow, ice, sleet and freezing rain this winter. Can’t wait for Spring. At least now the temps in New York City are in the 40s and 50s as opposed to below minus 15!!!

    • toniandrukaitis March 18, 2015 at 2:01 am #

      I’m so glad you’ve warmed up. It’s been a harsh winter everywhere, even here in Texas. Happy Spring!

Leave a Reply

