Sunday Sermon, Samaritans, Sprouts and Some Nails

8 Mar

“A Spiritual Samaritan lives knowing that if we were to leave this world tomorrow, we were the best humans we could be and we touched the lives of as many souls as possible. We are not asked to be perfect. We are asked to make a difference.” 
― Molly Friedenfeld
*******************
Today at Mass, Father Don talked about the Samaritan woman who was at the well, and Jesus asked her for a drink of water. This isn’t the story about the Good Samaritan…different story. The point is, the Jews did not associate with the people of Samaria, but Jesus spoke to the woman and treated her kindly. That’s my take on the sermon. Just be kind to everyone.

Gospel

JN 4:5-42

Jesus came to a town of Samaria called Sychar, 
near the plot of land that Jacob had given to his son Joseph.
Jacob’s well was there.
Jesus, tired from his journey, sat down there at the well.
It was about noon.

A woman of Samaria came to draw water.
Jesus said to her,

“Give me a drink.”

His disciples had gone into the town to buy food.

The Samaritan woman said to him,
“How can you, a Jew, ask me, a Samaritan woman, for a drink?”

—For Jews use nothing in common with Samaritans.—….

****************



***************

After Mass, I have a ritual of stopping at Sprouts for veggies, fruit, and nuts. There’s always something good on sale. Today, they had all kinds of nuts on sale and “sometimes you feel like a nut.” I went nuts and bought  2.54 lbs cashews, 1.75lbs walnuts, 1.62 lbs almonds, 1.74 lbs raisins (not a nut, but close.) I mix them up in a big glass jar with peanuts, and snack on them all day.



Yesterday was a gorgeous sunshiny day, but today is a cool, drizzly grey and dreary day. I still came home, changed into my walking clothes, put up my hood and walked in the rain. Yes, I am a nut! I have my traditions, routines and try not to waver, rain or shine. 

Plus, if I don’t go out there for my daily walks, who is going to pick up nails and save the world from flat tires? Who, I ask you? Who?



Yesterday’s find of sharp objects and a quarter, one dime, two pennies and a slug.

Today’s discovery, 2 quarters, a Penney and a shiny washer. 51 cents! Bonus! 

Well, this all kinda ties in. I listened and shared the sermon today, I “prayed for us sinners” (running joke with Mom), and because I’m a nut, I bought a bunch of nuts then went out for a walk in the rain, like a nut. Being a Good Samaritan, I picked up rusty nails and screws from the road, but I was rewarded with monetary compensation. (Where’s my cape?)

Have a great Sunday!

Leave a Reply

