Wednesday: Wonderful Words of Love at First Sight

2 Apr
“Falling in love is very real, but I used to shake my head when people talked about soul mates, poor deluded individuals grasping at some supernatural ideal not intended for mortals but sounded pretty in a poetry book. Then, we met, and everything changed, the cynic has become the converted, the sceptic, an ardent zealot.” 
― E.A. BucchianeriBrushstrokes of a Gadfly
****************

I know, I know! You think I’m crazy, but it was love at first sight. I never thought I could love again after having my heart trampled on and ripped out of my chest. After lies, deceit, betrayal, and being abandoned after over four decades of complete devotion. I never thought My heart would be love again. But, like I said, it was love at first sight.
Everything happened so quickly, I didn’t have a chance. But, now the secret is out. I didn’t want people thinking I was crazy. But, I guess I am. Those big brown eyes “had me at hello.” Our long walks along the pond, strolls in the park, or just watching the Super Bowl together, it was all magical. 
It’s only been a few months, but were talking about moving in together, at least to try it out and see how it works. What could it hurt? I’m not getting any younger, and it would be nice to have a loving companion, even if only for a short time. Life is too short.
This made me think of the lyrics by Paul McCartney’s “Silly Love Songs.” 
Love doesn’t come in a minute
Sometimes it doesn’t come at all
I only know that when I’m in it
It isn’t silly, love isn’t silly, love isn’t silly at all
So, this is my neighbor Bailey. She’s the cutest little pup, and it was love at first sight. My great friends and neighbors Diane and Richard rescued her a few months ago. And yes, we have taken walks in the park and we watched the Super Bowl together. Bailey might move in with me a few days when Diane goes out of town. We have a lot in common. She was abandoned, abused and kicked around before finding her new home. We’re both a little skiddish, but doing better. (Thanks Diane for the cute photos.)
   

 

But in reality, my two sons Joe and Matt are the real loves of my life, from the second they were born, until my last dying breath. 

 

  

Leave a Reply

