Thankful Thursday

3 Apr
“Life without thankfulness is devoid of love and passion. Hope without thankfulness is lacking in fine perception. Faith without thankfulness lacks strength and fortitude. Every virtue divorced from thankfulness is maimed and limps along the spiritual road.” 
― John Henry Jowett

*****************

There is always something to be thankful for. But, you know what is even more pleasant than a day full of personal gratitude? It’s when someone appreciates and is thankful for something you’ve done for them. 

Last week, when I made my cute little Peep bunny cupcakes, I took some to my local fire station, but I also took some to several of my new neighbors. Officer Rick, a Texas State Trooper was out throwing the football around with his two sons, so I took some over there. Then, there’s this adorable little girl, Carly, who lives a few houses down. She always runs out to say hi when I’m out walking. I took one over there,  and also to the two houses next door.

So, Sunday evening when I was out for a walk, little Carly ran out to the street and said, “Thank you for the cupcake,” and then she gave me a big hug. Later that evening, the doorbell rang. It was my neighbor with her daughter Hailey. She drew a beautiful thank you card with a picture of her cupcake.

  
  
Isn’t that precious? Needless to say, more cupcakes will be finding their way to Hailey’s house.
I can always find something to be thankful for, but being appreciated is very, very special.
   

 

5 Responses to “Thankful Thursday”

  1. Yoshiko April 3, 2015 at 2:17 am #

    Indeed. There is always thankfulness in everything even in hard times.

  2. Yoshiko April 3, 2015 at 2:44 am #

    Reblogged this on Moral Value Story and commented:
    It’s good to be thankful in the midst of despair. Then you’ll know who are true to you.

    • toniandrukaitis April 3, 2015 at 2:46 am #

      Thank you Yoshiko. I appreciate your kind words and enjoy wour blog. You are a special person.

      • Yoshiko April 3, 2015 at 2:47 am #

        Welcome, Toni. I am just an ordinary person.

  3. agriffith1 April 6, 2015 at 12:17 pm #

    The blessed little children! Whenever we encounter a little one and are wrapped in their charms for a short while, we forget ourselves and step onto a higher plane of mindfulness. God bless the Haileys of this world and the treasured meetings that provide thankfulness in our hearts. Thankfulness squeezes out other less appealing and self-involved feelings, the ones that don’t make us happy.

Leave a Reply

