Sunday Sermon, Some Grey Skies, and First Signs of Spring

6 Apr

“Sometimes beautiful things come into our lives out of nowhere. We can’t always understand them, but we have to trust in them. I know you want to question everything, but sometimes it pays to just have a little faith.” 

― Lauren Kate, Torment

*******************

Even the pouring rain and grey gloomy morning couldn’t darken my spirits today. Today is Easter. I made sure to leave extra early for 9 o’clock Mass, as I knew it would be packed…and it was.

So, of course the Gospel was about the resurrection of Jesus, but I always like to give you my abridged personal version. To me, the entire story of Easter is about faith. Our faith gives us strength, and “we may not always understand” or we may question, but we still believe.

  

After Mass, the parking lot was a madhouse. Talk abput gridlock. People were trying to leave while people were trying to come in for the 11 o’clock service. No one was moving. Having nowhere I needed to be, I patiently turned off my car, took out my cell phone, propped my feet up and checked my email for about twenty minutes. By then the lot was almost empty and I left without a problem.

The rain finally stopped and I was able to get out for a long afternoon walk. It was a bit damp and misty, but I bundled up and enjoyed the beauty of the grey skies silhouetted by the dark trees.

  

Isn’t that a beautiful scene? It was a beautiful day and a beautiful Easter.

“If you can find beauty in a gloomy grey sky with broken black tree branches reaching up to the heavens, then you can truly appreciate life.”

~Me

***************

  

I was so excited when I saw the first knockout rose bushes in bloom along the path by the pond. My first signs of Spring.

  

2 Responses to “Sunday Sermon, Some Grey Skies, and First Signs of Spring”

  1. Yoshiko April 6, 2015 at 5:38 am #

    True 🙂

  2. Yoshiko April 6, 2015 at 5:38 am #

    Reblogged this on Daylight Tune Ministries.

Leave a Reply

