Wednesday: Words of Wisdom and Poetry

9 Apr


“It is spring again. The earth is like a child that knows poems by heart.” 

― Rainer Maria Rilke

**************************

After my morning walk, I stopped to pull a few unsightly weeds in my front yard. Then, I meandered over to the front flower bed where I had planted a single solitary Knockout rose bush last fall. It was the only new thing I planted at my new house. I wasn’t sure if the tiny thing was going to make it after the bitter winter. So, I giggled with delight when I saw my first red rose today. 


“We made it! We made it!” I related to the struggle of the delicate rose. We made it through the harsh winter together, and now we are going to grow and blossom and thrive. A new rose, a new house, a new life. ” We made it!” A lot of metaphor stuff going on here, but that’s what I do. I also like to write poetry when I am thus inspired.


*****************************




           THE FIRST SIGN OF SPRING


The harsh grey of winter melts away in a hush


As the first blooms of Spring apply their colorful blush.


Then tiny red blossoms peek from branches and stems


With the radiant glow of fine rubies and gems. 


My heart sings a song when the first rose appears


And the sky gently sprinkles the earth with her tears.


~Toni Andrukaitis


*****************************

  

  

Leave a Reply

