Tuesday: Time for Community

15 Apr


“One of the marvelous things about community is that it enables us to welcome and help people in a way we couldn’t as individuals. When we pool our strength and share the work and responsibility, we can welcome many people, even those in deep distress, and perhaps help them find self-confidence and inner healing.” 

― Jean Vanier, Community And Growth

******************

My life has been blessed with an amazing family, friends and community. Today,  I started off with an 8:30 Zumba class where I’ve met some nice women and made friends. Then, home to make brownies for this evening’s McKinney Creative Community at SPARC. (I always play with my food and make funny faces with the brownie mix.)

  

I had just enough time to get the brownies out of the oven to cool before I headed off to the Square to have lunch with some old friends, some who I hadn’t seen in years. Then I scurried home to get a walk in before going to Creative Community.

 

This group of artist, writer’s, musicians, healers, and friends share so much creativity and friendship that the room is filled with a special exciting energy every second Tuesday. During our “meet and greet, what’s new and good” discussion, everyone introduces themselves and shares what they’ve been doing.

This evening I told the group how my daily blog inspires me to find something inspirational to write about, and how taking pictures of everyday scenes or objects can bring inspiration. Each day there is something to look forward to, something new to see and share. My friend Laura mentioned to me later that she was moved and inspired by what I said. How cool is that?

Lynne, Steve, and I had a conversation about how we treasure the special artwork that we’ve gotten from our friends, and how as artists, we are honored to know that our artwork or a gift holds a special place in someone’s home.

  

This is what I see when I walk in my front door. Special gifts.

We are all a part of a special community, but you have to participate in life to be a member. McKinney has a wonderful sense of community, great people, and fabulous friends.

  

Leave a Reply

