Sunday Sermon and Silly Stuff

19 Apr

“He that can have patience can have what he will.” 

― Benjamin Franklin

**************************

Today’s Gospel and my abridged take on it. Gosh, my version usually is no where close to the true meaning, it’s just what I get from it…


Jesus wanted the disciples to know that he really rose from the dead and was not a ghost. He said all would come to pass as predicted and that we must believe and be patient. Here we are again with FAITH and PATIENCE. I took it to mean that if I am patient, I believe in my faith and myself and my fellow man, then everything will turn out OK. 


Gospel LK 24:35-48


The two disciples recounted what had taken place on the way,

and how Jesus was made known to them 

in the breaking of bread.


While they were still speaking about this,

he stood in their midst and said to them,

“Peace be with you.”

But they were startled and terrified

and thought that they were seeing a ghost.

Then he said to them, “Why are you troubled?

And why do questions arise in your hearts? …

****************************

After church, the mass exodus to the parking lot and gridlock that ensues could have been rather frustrating. But, I’ve been very patient of late, especially after today’s sermon, so I just took my time. Instead of starting my car and nudging my way into the exiting lane, I just sat in my car, ignition off and glanced through the church bulletin. When the line slowed down fifteen minutes later, I started up the car and left. 

  

I stopped at the store after Mass, as is my tradition. I never eat breakfast before church. (Old Catholic habit of fasting before communion.) My shopping cart contained Fritos, chocolate cake mix and chocolate ice cream. Do you see a pattern here? One of my other traditions is grabbing a spoon when I get home and eating the edges of the now softened chocolate ice cream. I got a little carried away and had chocolate ice cream for breakfast. (Here comes the silly stuff.)

  

But, I did add some almond milk with 50% more calcium than milk to offset the calories.

Later, I went for a long walk, about an hour and a half. But look what I had for lunch. Chocolate covered almonds. They were dark chocolate. Healthy, right?

  

Well, I better go out for an evening walk. No more chocolate for me…maybe?

She that can have patience can have what she will…like chocolate.

One Response to “Sunday Sermon and Silly Stuff”

  1. agriffith1 April 20, 2015 at 1:30 pm #

    I love your chocolate obsession because I do the same some days.

Leave a Reply

