Tuesday: TOTS Table Of Talent Sisters~ Old Friends and New Friends

22 Apr

If a man does not make new acquaintances as he advances through life, he will soon find himself alone. A man should keep his friendships in constant repair.

 ~Samuel Johnson

***********************

New friends become old friends, always making room for new friends.

~ME

***********************

Today, our little core group of girlfriends (known as the TOTS- Table Of Talent Sisters) had an impromptu get together to celebrate Lynda’s birthday. Unless I’m in the emergency room or out of town, a quick call or text for lunch is met with…”What time and where we goin’?” That’s what girlfriends do, especially good old friends. Actually, good friends. Nobody old here.

  

So, now to a new friend. When I’m out walking everyday, I usually wave or say HI to people passing by or sitting in front of their house. It’s a new neighborhood and everyone is pretty friendly. So, last night, I passed a neighbor sitting on her front porch, enjoying a glass of wine. I trudged along and asked, “You have an extra glass for me?” As I passed, the response was,”Sure, we’ll be here.” When I passed the second time around, she asked, “Ready for your glass of wine?” I laughed and said, “I’m almost done walking, I’ll be back.”

It was starting to get dark. I finished my walk and went home. I giggled to myself, unlocked the front door, grabbed one of my hand-painted wine glasses, and walked back around the corner. I introduced myself and Darla poured me a glass of white wine. We talked for over an hour. I have a new friend and Darla has a new wine glass. She said she’d keep it ready for me.

  
  

One Response to “Tuesday: TOTS Table Of Talent Sisters~ Old Friends and New Friends”

  1. Yoshiko April 22, 2015 at 4:55 am #

    Very true

Leave a Reply

