Saturday: St. Gabriel’s Spaghetti Dinner and Stepping Outside the Box

26 Apr

“We all want to break our orbits, float like a satellite gone wild in space, run the risk of disintegration. We all want to take our lives in our own hands and hurl them out among the stars.” 

― David Bottoms

**********************

After gloomy days of rain and grey, today was sunny and downright warm, getting up to 89degrees. I went to my writing group, had lunch with Mandy, did some shopping, bought nothing, had an ice cream cone at Sweet Spot on the square, then came home for a long steamy walk. 

I debated with myself about going to the Knights of Columbus Spaghetti dinner  Karaoke night at St. Gabriel’s.  I didn’t think I’d know anyone there and I don’t like doing things alone. I’m tired of doing things alone. But, I’ve been telling myself to step out of my little lonely box and try new things. (I talk to myself a lot)  So, I showered and went off to St. Gabriel’s. 

When I walked in, Father Don was kicking off the karaoke segment with “Sweet Caroline.” He has a very nice voice, so I grabbed my phone to take a video.

http://youtu.be/jn0uV7-yViw

  
I didn’t see any familiar faces, so I sat with a group people I didn’t know. I smiled, laughed, and clapped along. I struck up a conversation with the lady sitting next to me. We talked a while, exchanged pleasantries, and I gave her my card and asked her to call me some time and perhaps we could have lunch. I made a new friend. I stepped outside my box. 

  
Teresa. “A stranger is just a friend you haven’t met yet.”

   
 

Leave a Reply

