Sunday Sermon and Some More Songs and Stuff From Saturday Night.

18 May

Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness.” 
― Maya Angelou

**************

Sunday sermon. This week we celebrated the Ascension of Jesus into heaven, leaving behind his earthly body and promising to return again. My take… the ultimate sacrifice, God sent his son to live among us, teach us, and show His unconditional love by dying on the cross. He rose again, ascended into heaven and will return. If we follow His teachings, we will enter the kingdom of heaven. Good stuff.

Another moving part of the service is the singing. I enjoy singing along and hearing the choir. Music touches my heart.

**************

Speaking of music, I wanted to share the fun Saturday evening at Cadillac Pizza Pub on the Square. My friend Linda Grossman said she was going to listen to Maylee Thomas-Fuller Band and asked if I wanted to join her and some friends. Well, of course. I love live music, especially if it’s right here in McKinney. 

I’ve heard the band before at outdoor venues, but at the pub, close quarters and sitting just a few feet away, it was an awesome experience. I still have ringing in my ears. Maylee was burning up the stage, starting off with a tribute to B B King.

http://youtu.be/vYrfOwVNSt4

  

We had a big table by the stage. Johnny B, DJ from KLAK and his lovely wife Julie joined us, along with  a few more of Linda’s friends. Everyone sang along to the classics, especially when Johnny got up and sang “Johnny Be Good.” When I left at midnight, the band was still rockin’.

  
Linda and me.

  
Linda and Maylee.

  
 

Johnny B belting out “Johnny Be Good.”

Whether it be a soft church choir hymn or a deafening rendition of “Purple Rain,” I love music. All music.

Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness.” 
― Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

