Wednesday Words of Wisdom: Sometimes You Have to Let Your Hair Down

21 May

Sometimes you just have to let your hair down, even if it gets all tangled and messy.

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

**********************

The story of my life has pretty much correlated with my hair styles over the years. This is a very profound observation, if I don’t say so myself.

When I was a young girl, my hair was so thick and curly, that I cried when Mom tried to comb the mass of tangles out. Thus was childhood, tangled, confusing, and unruly.

  
Then, high school and the 70’s happened. Long straight hair was in. What do you do when you have long frizzy Hispanic hair? Why, I put horrific smelling, scalp burning , chemical straighteners on it. Or, I asked my sister to iron it. Yikes! Teenage and young adult years, trying to fit in, conforming, straightening up, growing up.

Life happens, I had kids, raised my family, and basically, I just didn’t  care what my hair looked like. I was too busy. My hair was in a ponytail 99% of the time. Adult years and motherhood, no time to worry about my hair, too busy worrying about my family, friends and life.

Eventually, things slowed down. I decided to be natural, honest and live simply. Back to the curly hair. Naturally curly hair is a blessing, so I’m told. I never appreciated it when I was younger. Time to appreciate your blessings.

  
Now, getting older, trauma, drastic change, time to let my hair down. No more tightly wound buns, crazy curly tresses, or death grip pony tails. Time to straighten out again. 

Today, I called my friend Gaby, who is an amazing stylist, and I asked her what she could do with my frizzy curly unruly hair. Three long hours of tedious work later, she worked her magic, yet again on my goofy hair. 

  
Time to let my hair down. Here we go! 

   
Golden years, golden hair. My hair is shiny, smooth, untangled and beautiful. Now, time for a beautiful, smooth, untangled life.

See the correlation?

3 Responses to “Wednesday Words of Wisdom: Sometimes You Have to Let Your Hair Down”

  1. Yoshiko May 21, 2015 at 4:52 am #

    Indeed. I can see the different correlation. Most of the time, my hair is messy.

    • toniandrukaitis May 21, 2015 at 5:19 am #

      You are still young. Plenty of time for change.

      • Yoshiko May 21, 2015 at 2:08 pm #

        Ha ha ha šŸ˜€ thanks, Toni for your reply.

Leave a Reply

