Tuesday With Trini

9 Jun

“I’m blessed and I couldn’t be more grateful. Do you want to know why? Because I’m a mother, but that’s only half of it. I’m blessed because, when I need to, I can still just be a daughter. I get the feeling that there is nothing more precious than to have both of these roles, simultaneously.” ― Adrianna Stepiano

*****************

Yes, I am blessed twiced. I am the mother of two wonderful sons, and I am the daughter of the sweetest mother in the world. Unconditional love is received and given when you are lucky enough to wear both hats. 

My mom doesn’t live close by, so when we get to spend time together , every minute is a celebration. Her bright eyes and loving spirit could melt anyone ‘s heart. 

  
This was my welcome, open arms, hugs and kisses. Happy Biryhday ,  Mom!

  
My best friend Lin , loves Mom and considers her part of her family too, always bringing gifts and/ or flowers. 

  
Every year on her birthday, my other best friend Debbie gives Mom a box of candy called Trinidads. Her full name is Trinidad. Isn’t that a ” sweet ” tradition? I have the greatest friends and they all love Mom. 

   
 

I am twice blessed!

 ***************

My Sweet Mother
I have the sweetest mother

And for this I’m doubly blessed

From the moment I was born 

And I lay upon her chest.

She held me in her arms

And kissed the tears away

I learned from her example

And she  taught me how to pray. 

As protective as a lion

Yet as gentle as a lamb

The light that guides my footsteps

That is why I’m who I am.

Love you Mom

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis 

   
Oil painting I did of Mom years ago. 

 

My favorite picture of us. We always are laughing and being silly. Now, you know where I get that from. 

5 Responses to “Tuesday With Trini”

  1. Lilka Raphael June 9, 2015 at 11:42 pm #

    Loved this post! I can surely relate.

    • toniandrukaitis June 10, 2015 at 3:55 am #

      I am glad that you are blessed in the same way. Mothers are special.

  2. Barbara Wagner June 10, 2015 at 2:20 am #

    What a beautiful tribute to your wonderful Mother!

    • toniandrukaitis June 10, 2015 at 3:57 am #

      Thank you Barb. She is so special. An angel here on earth.

  3. Shirley Dragas June 10, 2015 at 3:13 am #

    Trini is my adopted mother and I love her to death. I have never heard her utter an unkind word about anything or to anyone. She is the person I try to be. Whenever I have to think about something, I always say, “Now what would Trini do?” Hope you had a wonderful birthday Trini. Love you.

Leave a Reply

