Saturday: Shopping and Someone Fun

13 Jun

There’s always a good lesson in meeting new people, its enlarging your circle of friends. And though there are times you don’t match with their likes, there are some whom you just blend well.

Solita

***********

You never know when or where you are going to meet someone interesting and funny. 

Today , I went shopping with my best friend, Lin. We went to Woodfield Mall and hit all the usual suspects. Nordstrom, Lord & Taylor, Macy’s , etc.  I was on the quest for a pair of dressy shoes for the wedding. Big dilemma… Something to match a dark grey dress and comfortable yet elegant shoes for gigantic feet. We found a pair at L&T, but too small. Ordered some to be shipped within a week. Good !

Next mission… Some elegant, yet not too flashy jewelry. That’s where we met Maureen , in the fine jewelry department. She had to be the all time most helpful , sweet and energetic salesperson that I’ve ever met in my life. 

  
Not only could Maureen sell ice to an Eskimo, she would be invited for dinner and ice cream. As a matter of fact , she said she had been invited to several weddings of customers who bought wedding rings from her. One of those friendly people who goes the extra mile. 

After a long conversation, we knew all about Maureen and her 25 years at Dominick’s prior to JCPenney. She helped pick out the perfect bracelet and earrings, suggested I open a charge to get an additional savings , and added the additional coupon savings. By the time we were done, we ended up exchanging email information and I kiddingly invited her to Joe’s wedding. She just giggled and said, “Please, don’t invite me to the wedding. I have 6 weddings this summer. ” (I bet she does.)

   
 

It was lovely meeting you Maureen. Let’s keep in touch. I told you I was going to blog about you today, my friend. 

3 Responses to “Saturday: Shopping and Someone Fun”

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham June 15, 2015 at 3:11 pm #

    What a sweetie you are! Sounds like a fun day.

    • toniandrukaitis June 15, 2015 at 4:25 pm #

      Thanks Miss Brenda. I’m having fun back home in Chicago with my family and old friends. Have a good week.

Leave a Reply

