Friday Family, Fun, and Food

4 Jul

Part of the secret of success in life is to eat what you like and let the food fight it out inside.Mark Twain

*********

A beautiful day in Elgin, sunshine and 70’s. Couldn’t ask for a better day. When I woke up, Mom was making pancakes. I don’t eat breakfast before noon, so I passed. BUT, I suggested that she make a funny face in her pancakes. She doesn’t see faces in her food, so I took the liberty of embellishing her breakfast. 

   

I see faces in the pancakes!!!

I went for a long leisurely walk, and soaked in the sunshine, birds chirping, racoons roaming. 

It was too nice to stay inside. Mom doesn’t like to venture out that much anymore, but my sister and I coerced her into joining us for lunch at Olive Garden.  She said that she doesn’t like their food, so I told her to just order dessert then. She loves dessert. So, off we went. 
  
Their black tie chocolate mousse cake is fantastic. “Life is short, eat dessert any time.” (Me)

  
I am a very considerate and helpful daughter, so I helped Mom with her lunch. 

   
 

3 Responses to “Friday Family, Fun, and Food”

  1. hoping4astory July 29, 2015 at 4:19 pm #

    I have done that and it didn’t work. Got to watch stuff!

  2. hoping4astory July 29, 2015 at 4:20 pm #

    But once in a while is okay! Your mom looks happy!

    • toniandrukaitis July 30, 2015 at 11:19 pm #

      Thank you. Mom is adorable. I’m so blessed to have her in my life.

Leave a Reply

