Tuesday: Trains, Planes and Automobiles

8 Jul

“Each time you say hello to a stranger, your heart acknowledges over and over again that we are all family.” ― Suzy Kassem

***************

Saturday evening, I took the Metra train into the city to meet my son. There was a 30 minute delay because of a police matter at one of the stops. It was Fourth of July, I could only imagine the dilemma. 

When the train finally arrived, it wasn’t crowded, as it was only the second stop on the route. I plopped down by a window , then a lady about my age sat down next to me. I said hello, and we started chatting. 

After a few minutes, I thought, duh, I didn’t even introduce myself. Her name was Ina. She was meeting her son downtown and they were suppose to go to the ball game, but now running late. I told her about the upcoming wedding of my eldest son, and I was going to meet my younger son for the weekend. 

Long and short, Ina and I shared our lives and stories on our hour long train trek. Turns out, Miss Ina is a physical therapist who frequently visits patients at Mom’s place at the Greens of Elgin. Before our last stop, we became Facebook friends. Such a sweet lady. 

“HI MISS INA!!!!”

  
I absolutely love talking to strangers and meeting new people, and making new friends. 

It was a pleasure meeting you, Miss Ina. Keep in touch. 

   
 

3 Responses to “Tuesday: Trains, Planes and Automobiles”

  1. Yoshiko July 8, 2015 at 9:04 am #

    Normally, I love to give strangers a smile. It feels good to brighten others.

    >

  2. dl tracey March 14, 2016 at 5:44 pm #

    Looking forward to Black Russian Friday posts

Leave a Reply

