Sunday Sermon and Some Funny Yummy Brownies

19 Jul

You will never know how much you can accomplish until you try. Never stop trying. Your miracle will come in undefined moments.Lailah GiftyAkita

*************

Ah! Back to church , St. Gabriel’s, familiar friends and faces, routines and rituals. I don’t deal with change very well, if you didn’t know. So, five weeks in Chicago, away from my routine, threw me off kilter. But, my ” kilter” is back to normal now. 

Sunday Sermon: 

GospelMK 6:30-34

The apostles gathered together with Jesus

and reported all they had done and taught. 

He said to them,

“Come away by yourselves to a deserted place and rest a while.” 

*********

My take on today’s Gospel. Jesus and the apostles were tired. They tried to get away to rest, but people followed them, thirsty for more. “They were like sheep without a shepherd. ” So, Jesus felt sorry for them and taught them more. Sometimes, we are tired and don’t feel like going on, but others may depend on us, or look to us for help , guidance, or just friendship. Rest is not as important as the people in your lives. 

*********

Now for the funny part. My dear friend Lynne and her husband Charlie invited me to join them for dinner last night , and then run over to check out Winco across the street. Charlie was contemplating dessert and was going to but some brownies, but both Lynne and I were appalled at the thought of brownies NOT made by yours truly. I think we even gasped simultaneously.

Therefore, today, I have some brownies cooling on top of the stove to take over there. Of course, I had to make a funny face with the mix,   


  and add lots if chocolate chips and diced up Snickers and Milky Way bars. Wooo!    

  

  
  

One Response to “Sunday Sermon and Some Funny Yummy Brownies”

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham July 20, 2015 at 11:51 pm #

    Yum! They look to die for! My kids like the face a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

