Wednesday Words: Sharing, Caring, and Learning

20 Aug

Liberty is the right of every man to be honest, to think and to speak without hypocrisy. 

Jose Marti

*********

Last night I attended the McKinney City Council meeting. This was an open session where residents could speak and address the council about any concerns. I had intended on speaking in support of McKinney Mounted Patrol. It looked like it was going to be a busy agenda
  

After the opening prayer from a local pastor and the pledge of allegiance, the mayor welcomed visitors and asked if anyone wanted to address the council before the session began. I looked around, and no one raised their hand. I was nervous, but I raised my hand and walked up to the podium, stated my name and address, then told the council that I was speaking for hundreds of residents who wanted to keep the mounted patrol in our community. They were part of what makes McKinney unique by nature and the number one place to live in the country. I said , “Thank you” and say down. 

It felt good to speak my mind, but more importantly, I was impressed with the function and workings of the city council. I stayed for the entire  meeting , and I learned a little but about how the city works. I have a greater admiration for the people who devote so much time for their community. 

What a great country we have, where anyone can speak their mind. I was also impressed that our council started with a prayer and the pledge. Everyone should see how their city works if they haven’t had the opportunity.  

   
STAMP. Support The Awesome Mounted Patrol

One Response to “Wednesday Words: Sharing, Caring, and Learning”

  1. hoping4astory August 21, 2015 at 2:31 pm #

    You are in Canada?

Leave a Reply

