Wednesday: What Do You See? 

2 Sep

What we do see depends mainly on what we look for. … In the same field the farmer will notice the crop, the geologists the fossils, botanists the flowers, artists the colouring, sportmen the cover for the game.
Though we may all look at the same things, it does not all follow that we should see them.~John Lubbock, The Beauties of Nature and the Wonders of the World We Live in

**************

I tend to see things a little differently than most people. It could be my artist’s eye or my writer”s imagination, or perhaps I was dropped on my head as a young child. (Inside joke…other sister.) But, any way you look at it, I probably look at it differently. 

Here’s a photo of bark on a tree trunk. What do you see? 

  
Isn’t it amazing? Squint your eyes a little. I would tell you what I see, but that would spoil your perception. 

Again, you must remember that I see faces in the brownie mix! 

  See, I told ya!

 “Though we may all look at the same things, it does not all follow that we should see them.”

  

2 Responses to “Wednesday: What Do You See? ”

  1. thefeatheredsleep September 5, 2015 at 12:58 am #

    Wise and true♡

  2. agriffith1 September 7, 2015 at 2:55 pm #

    I’ve wanted to walk behind Purisima Mission since my first visit to Lompoc. We stayed at O’Cairns Inn, and a pretty young girl behind the counter at the check-in desk said her favorite thing to do here was hike or run or bike in the many trails behind the mission. Sooo beautiful a day yesterday, we began at 8:00, parked in the lot instead of on the street, so we would have to pay to support this wonderful place. Unfortunately, I took only one or two pictures of the twisted, ancient roots of gorgeous trees. We loved hearing the running water from the spring, and seeing green galore (an oddity these days in CA) in forests of ferns, tall willowy trees, and piney richness. Though, i didn’t see the Hidden Lake I dreamed of (in a calendar I purchased), I save it to dream of in the future and we did see a pond. I’ll send you the picture of Tim in front of that and trees in a text. Post if you wish.

Leave a Reply

