Sunday Sermon, Some Friends and a Sunset

13 Sep

Aim at Heaven and you will get Earth ‘thrown in’: aim at Earth and you will get neither.

C.S. Lewis, The Joyful Christian

*********

What a gorgeous morning here in McKinney. The sun was shining in a clear blue sky, and the cool breeze eased the summer heat. The temps were in the low 70’s. Yay! A brief relief, more heat on the way. 

I did my  “greeter thing” this morning at church. I just love seeing all the smiling faces as the enter, and I especially love seeing the families coming together for prayer. 

Mark8:27-35.  Gospel

……He summoned the crowd with his disciples and said to them,

“Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself,

take up his cross, and follow me. 

For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it,

but whoever loses his life for my sake

and that of the gospel will save it.”

******

My take… I don’t think this means that God wants us to “give our life” as in die, but rather give your life by leading a good life, loving and helping others. Instead of just thinking of ourselves and our own earthly and selfish ways, “take up His cross and follow Him.” 

*******

After Mass, I stopped at Sprouts, went for a walk, then off to DFW to pick up my good friends who had been on vacation.  (You don’t know how much you miss someone till they go on a long vacation .) 

  
Welcome home Lynne and Charlie ! 

Being directional impaired and parking challenged, I was clever enough to take a photo of where I parked. Thank you iphone. 

  
“I’m not getting older and wiser. I’m getting older and critically challenged.”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

Now, a pretty Texas sunset. 

  
I think I’ll aim for heaven. It’s prettier up there. 

One Response to “Sunday Sermon, Some Friends and a Sunset”

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham September 16, 2015 at 2:19 am #

    Pretty sunset.

Leave a Reply

