Theme Song Thursday: Our State Fair

9 Oct

If you ever start feeling like you have the goofiest, craziest, most dysfunctional family in the world, all you have to do is go to a state fair. Because five minutes at the fair, you’ll be going, ‘you know, we’re alright. We are dang near royalty.’Jeff Foxworthy

***********

If you haven’t seen this old movie, 1962 “State Fair” with Pat Boone, you’ve missed a classic. I was humming the song all day in my head. My friend Sherri and I went to the Texas State Fair today. I have never been to a state fair, so another check mark on my bucket list of things I’ve always wanted to do. (Thank you Miss Sherri!!!)

I think the pictures will speak for themselves. 

  
Big Tex greeted us and welcomed us to the fair. He’s a big Texas boy, ain’t he?

  
Of course, you have to have a corn dog with mustard. It’s mandatory.

  
Then there’s the deep fried snicker bar!

  
Sherri fed many animals.

  
It was a long, hot day. Even the little animals were tired. They weren’t all hyped up on deep fried goodies.

  
This giraffe was looking for her baby. “Where’s my baby, y’all?”

  
We went to the horse demo venue. I couldn’t get a good pic of the riders, they moved too fast. There were a lot of dancers too.

  
We wanted to find a ride that wasn’t to scary. This one looked tame. Oh my! Just when I thought I was going to fall out and die, it went backwards just as fast and crazy. I held on for dear life and screamed the entire time. We should have gone to the kiddie section and gone on the Dumbo ride instead. 

  
We were smart enough to not even think about this one. Although it would have been a good way to “lose your lunch.”

  
Sherri just barley made the height requirement. Phew! Hey, I didn’t mention it was Senior Day Thursday. Sherri didn’t meet the requirement, but I got in FREE! Yay! Finally old age has it’s perks!

  
When we headed back to the car, we spotted the McKinney Trolley. Why didn’t they tell us they were going too? I had my McKinney shirt on. Lovely day at the fair!

One Response to “Theme Song Thursday: Our State Fair”

  1. murfun2 October 9, 2015 at 2:49 am #

    What a great blog post. It depicted our wonderful day at the Fair perfectly! So glad we went!!

Leave a Reply

