Sunday Sermon and the Church Picnic

12 Oct

“A picnic is more than eating a meal, it is a pleasurable sate of mind.” 

― DeeDee Stovel

**************

I got up extra early to frost my mini cupcakes for the church picnic this afternoon. I had volunteered to stand by the Welcome Ministry booth from 12-3, so I wouldn’t have time after Mass to frost. The cupcakes turned out cute.

*************

Today’s Gospel was about getting into heaven. My take on it is not so literal, not so much that you can’t be wealthy and get into heaven, but if you are selfish, greedy, or dishonest gaining your wealth, that is bad. If you don’t help others, and don’t share your blessings, then you won’t get into heaven. You don’t have to be a pauper, but if you have a loaf of bread, share it with someone who has none. Just my opinion.

**************

Gospel MK 10:17-30
As Jesus was setting out on a journey, a man ran up,

knelt down before him, and asked him,

“Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?”

Jesus answered him, “Why do you call me good? 

No one is good but God alone.

You know the commandments: You shall not kill;

you shall not commit adultery;

you shall not steal;

you shall not bear false witness;

you shall not defraud;

honor your father and your mother.” 

He replied and said to him,

“Teacher, all of these I have observed from my youth.”

Jesus, looking at him, loved him and said to him,

“You are lacking in one thing.

Go, sell what you have, and give to the poor

and you will have treasure in heaven; then come, follow me.” 

At that statement his face fell,

and he went away sad, for he had many possessions…….

****************

It was a beautiful day. I signed up  to be a greeter for 9 o’clock Mass. I scurried home afterwards to change and decorate my cupcakes with spiders and pumpkins. I made 6 dozen. I took 5 dozen to the picnic and gave the rest  to a few neighbors. (I share my wealth.)

   
 
St. Gabriel had a great turnout for the picnic. My friend Ed was taking a head count with a clicker thingy,  and counted close to 800 people who went through the food line. That didn’t even count the helpers, volunteers, and entertainers. I was inside most the time, so I didn’t get to take pictures of the crowd outside.

   
Father Don, in he middle, greeting people walking past the ministry tables.


It was fun to see all the families, friends and neighbors enjoying their community. It reminded me of an old Any Griffith Show, and all the folks in Mayberry going to the church picnic. 

  
 

6 Responses to “Sunday Sermon and the Church Picnic”

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham October 12, 2015 at 12:57 pm #

    Looks like fun and great cupcakes. 🙂

    • toniandrukaitis October 12, 2015 at 3:22 pm #

      Thanks Miss Brenda. It was a nice picnic and I got to meet some new people and visit. Hope you had a good weekend.

  2. Holistic Wayfarer December 6, 2015 at 9:40 pm #

    My 8-yr-old memorized the Commandments – including the “preamble” (v1-17) in the King James. =) I set it to song for our homeschool group.

Leave a Reply

