Tuesday: Taking Time To Help a Friend

14 Oct

When we give cheerfully and accept gratefully, everyone is blessed.Maya Angelou

***********

One of the greatest compliments I receive is when a friend calls me and asks for an “emergency craft or art consult.” 

A couple of weeks ago, my friend Tana called me and said, “Toni, I have a big favor to ask you. I was trying to paint some flowers on a large chalkboard and it turned out terrible. I painted over it. Can you help me ?”

She texted me a picture of a framed board that she had printed all the names of guests and table seating for her daughter’s wedding. It was Thursdady afternoon and the wedding was Saturday. So, I asked what the wedding colors were, and I drove over to her house with paints and brushes in hand. Turns out their colors were white and gold. Perfect! I love painting roses in those colors. 

  
This was a huge, maybe 40x 50 in. frame. I love a challenge. I did a quick practice on paper and asked her if she liked it. She did. I was a little nervous, as she had spent hours writing all the names. 

  
Tana loved the roses. Her husband came home while I was in the middle of painting. They both watched me in awe, and couldn’t believe how quickly and easily I painted the roses. Lots of practice!

In less than half an hour, I saved the day. Well, not really, but they were very grateful for my kindness. I donned my Super Artist cape, rinsed my brushes, and was on my way. Another crafting crises avoided. 

I often get calls from friends asking for help on some project or other. I usually have a good solution. And when I don’t know, I do what most creative artists do…I make something up. Just kidding! Or am I? 

  

Leave a Reply

