Wednesday:) Words of Wisdom on Veterans Day

12 Nov

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.

~ President John F. Kennedy

*********************

Every day should be be Veterans Day. Thank those who have served and are currently serving our country by keeping them in your thoughts and prayers every day.

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

*********************

I once joked around and said, “Everything I ever learned, I learned on Facebook.” It was kind of a half joke/half truth. But, with so many people posting information, stories, photos, etc. you can’t help but learn something new every day.

Today being Veterans Day, I was flabbergasted (haven’t used that word in a long time) at all the wonderful photos and tributes to our veterans. Literally, there were hundreds of posts today of fathers, brothers, uncles, and, friends along with old faded photographs. 

There was also a mention on Facebook about taking time out at 11:11 a.m. on today, November 11, (11/11) to say a prayer, a moment of silence, or send out good thoughts for world peace. So, I set my alarm for 11:11 and did just that. Wouldn’t it be nice if we didn’t have to send our men and women off to war, or off to protect other parts of the world? World peace, doesn’t that sound wonderful?

If you missed 11:11 a.m.  There is always 11:11 p.m. tonight. It just takes a minute to send out some good thoughts and positive energy. 

I posted a picture of my father who served in the Phillipines during WWII. He was just a kid, barely shaving, and off he went to defend his country as so many others did. 

  
I also like to share a watercolor montage that I painted a few years ago that has a jungle scene intertwined with a map of the Phillipine Islands. Dad never got to see the painting, but I think he would have liked it. 

  
This was my way of paying tribute to my father and I will keep sharing it every Veterans Day.

I also like to shake hands with service men and women whenever I see them in uniform, and when I see a veteran sporting his cap that proudly states what branch he served in or what VFW Post they belong to, I shake his hand and say, “Thank you for your service.” I really wish more women shared their service. I’d like to thank them too. 

   
 

Leave a Reply

