Sunday Sermon, Sunshine and Smiles

22 Nov

“Some people are so much sunshine to the square inch.” ― Walt Whitman

*************

A beautiful sunny day here in McKinney. I had the loveliest surprise on my way to church this morning. I was driving down Stonebridge Dr., when who did I see walking down the street but my two dear friends Sherri and Michael. Of course, I just slammed on my brakes and stopped to chat. Only a few cars had to buzz around me. Then, you know me. I had to get a photo op in. “Hi Murphy’s!”

  
Great way to start my morning. Then, I did my greeting thing before Mass, holding the door open, smiling, shaking a few hands, and greeting all who entered. I’m getting pretty good at it. I still take a little Match Box car every Sunday for my young friend Landon. He always has a big smile. Isn’t he cute!

  
Today, we celebrated the Feast of Christ the King. Father Charles related the Gospel to a king who so loves his people that he doesn’t ask his army to go out and do the fighting for him, but goes out and sacrifices his own life for his people. 

My take on it…don’t ask anyone to do anything that you are not willing to do yourself. Lead by example, love by example. That’s what Jesus did. 

*****************

Gospel, John 18:33-37

33 So Pilate went back into the Praetorium and called Jesus to him and asked him, ‘Are you the king of the Jews?’

34 Jesus replied, ‘Do you ask this of your own accord, or have others said it to you about me?’
35 Pilate answered, ‘Am I a Jew? It is your own people and the chief priests who have handed you over to me: what have you done?’
36 Jesus replied, ‘Mine is not a kingdom of this world; if my kingdom were of this world, my men would have fought to prevent my being surrendered to the Jews. As it is, my kingdom does not belong here.’
37 Pilate said, ‘So, then you are a king?’ Jesus answered, ‘It is you who say that I am a king. I was born for this, I came into the world for this, to bear witness to the truth; and all who are on the side of truth listen to my voice.’

*****************

After Mass, the Knights of Columbus were hosting a pancake breakfast, so Miss Virginia and I walked over and had breakfast and met a nice couple from Frisco. Afterwards, I walked over to my car, ready to leave, and realized that the 11 o’clock Mass was starting in 15 minutes. I turned off my car and thought…I should go over and greet for the next Mass for a few minutes while I’m here, as they are having trouble getting  anyone to sign up for greeters. I never get to see the 11 o’clock Catholics. I saw a lot of new faces and smiles, then left after Mass started.

Yes, it was a nice Sunday morning with sunshine and smiles.

   
 
I always bring my own sunshine!

One Response to “Sunday Sermon, Sunshine and Smiles”

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham November 29, 2015 at 6:35 pm #

    I bet you are a great greeter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

