Saturday:) Something Silly, Strangers, and Sue’s Not Really Dead

12 Dec

Sometimes a miscommunication can become an amusing story for the holidays.

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

************

Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for by doing that some have entertained angels without knowing it.” ― Anonymous, Holy Bible: King James Version

************

This cute story is worth repeating every holiday season. It started with a phone call from my friend Magda, who said she got a phone call from an elderly gentleman looking for an artist who could paint on chinaware. She knew I painted on glass, so she gave me Dan’s number. She said that Dan knew a lady who painted a special bluebonnet keepsake on white  porcelain  or China for his wife every Christmas. He wanted bluebonnets painted on it and say “Sue” on the front and “Love Dan” with the year on the back. They had been married for over fifty years. “Now, she’s dead, but he wants to continue the tradition.” 

Well, my heart was touched that Dan wanted to continue to have a gift painted for his deceased wife, Sue. So, I agreed, called Dan for information as what he was looking for, and met him so he could show me some examples of previous gifts.

For several weeks, I scoured antique shops and consignment stores looking for the perfect item to paint on. I found a beautiful antique covered container and painted bluebonnets and wrote Sue on top. 

  
I called Dan and arranged to meet him to give him his gift. I told him it was only $20…even though I paid $25 and didn’t charge him for my time. He said that Sue was at her sister’s, so he could meet me at 11 am on his way to Rotary Club. WELL… That’s when I figured out that poor old Sue wasn’t dead, but rather, the lady who painted the gifts for Dan was deceased.

I had to laugh at my miscommunication, but thought it did make for an amusing holiday story. Last week, Dan called again and asked if I would still be able to paint a gift for Sue. I said, “Of course.” I hung up the phone, smiled, and called my sister and said, ” I got a call from Mr. Dan. I have to find something special to paint on for his not so dead wife, Sue.” Here we go again.

Here’s what I came up with for this year. A special cup and saucer made in England. Exquisite, if I don’t say so myself.

   
 
This will be my gift to Dan, a pay it forward act of kindness. Even though they are strangers to me, I’m just so glad Sue is still alive to enjoy her special gift from her loving husband.

   
 

Leave a Reply

