Sunday Sermon:)  Pay it Forward

14 Dec

Molly Friedenfeld

“A purposeful act or extension of kindness to another is never wasted, for it always resides in the hearts of all involved in a chain of love.” 

― Molly Friedenfeld

****************

After today’s Gospel, Father talked about the importance of sharing with others. He used the movie, “Pay It Forward” as an example as how people can make the world a better place. My take on it…if everyone just did a little something special for a stranger, or smiled to cheer someone up, or paid someone a compliment, or performed a small random act of kindness, then that person might be inspired to “pay it forward.”

Third Sunday of Advent     Gospel. Luke 3:10-18

The crowds asked John the Baptist,“What should we do?”

He said to them in reply,

“Whoever has two cloaks

should share with the person who has none. 

And whoever has food should do likewise…

****************

This is why I enjoy being a greeter before 9 o’clock Mass. I love the smiles and greetings I get in return. I didn’t even know what the Gospel was going to be about today when I had planned my little random act of kindness. I had an inexpensive, yet really cute, costume jewelry bracelet in my pocket that I was going to give a little girl on her way into church. 

  
One of the ladies I know was walking in with her daughter, Chloe. I reached in my pocket and said, “Let me see your hand.” I put the bracelet on her wrist and her little eyes lit up. She said , “Thank you,” and pranced inside. I’d like to think that I made a little girl feel special today. 

It was just a tiny gesture, but it warmed my heart and a little girl will remember a random act of a kindness, and perhaps will “pay it forward” someday. 

   
 

Leave a Reply

