Tuesday in Town and Day 3 of Pay It Forward Challenge

16 Dec

“Towns are like people. Old ones often have character, the new ones are interchangeable.” ― Wallace Stegner, Angle of Repose

***************

McKinney, Texas is my kind of town. Well, so is Chicago, as the song goes, but I live in McKinney now. I love the small town atmosphere of the square, the quaint shops, the friendly people.

This morning, I went to my Zumba class at the YMCA. I love Zumba! When I got home, I decided to try and get a walk in before the mean dark clouds let loose. One of my acts of kindness today was, I texted my neighbor and asked him if I could take his dog, Bella, for a walk. He works from home and doesn’t always have a lot of free time. Bella loves to go for walks and so do I, so it’s a win/win. We both get a little exercise and I do something nice for a neighbor and an adorable dog.

  
I was meeting Karen and Miss Eleanor for a late lunch at Mellow Mushroom on the square around 2pm. We were celebrating Miss Eleanor’s 91st birthday. Afterwards, I walked around and visited with friends at Sweet Spot Bakery, popped into LAST Art Gallery and chatted with Dana, Judy, and Gail, then while crossing the street, I bumped into Kathryn. All of these encounters required hugs, smiles, and laughter.Then, of course, I had to stop and say hello to Officers Lindsey and John, and their handsome mounts.

  
Day 3:) Pay It Forward and Random Acts of Kindness

I took Bella for a walk this morning. In the afternoon, I bumped into Jeremiah on the square, And I offered him my slice of pizza left over from lunch. Then, on my way back to my car, I saw Erma (who I hadn’t seen in ages) and her husband walking down the street over by the Christmas sleigh display on the corner. I waved at her and said, “Wouldn’t you like your picture taken in the sleigh?” At first she hesitated then agreed. Now, they have a cute holiday picture to share with friends and family.

  
Isn’t that an adorable picture?

It was a lovely day after all. Just like in life, sometimes it starts out dark and dreary, but then the sun comes out to brighten your day.

Leave a Reply

