Theme Song Thursday and Day 5:) “Pay It Forward” 12 Days of Christmas Challenge

18 Dec

“The best place to start is with a song in your heart. Then, sing out loud and proud, even if you’re a little off key”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

*********************

As promised or threatened, depending on your perspective, more about the Unbiological Sisters’ karaoke bus trip. Sherri and I met ten other fun ladies for a sing-a-long karaoke bus ride in Plano, where we drove through several over the top, amazingly decorated  for Christmas neighborhoods. We sat in this cool bus with flashing speckled lights and a karaoke screen in the back, while we passed around microphones and belted out great popular songs and then Chritmas songs on the second half.

  
Sherri and I were loving every minute.

   
    
 
We stopped several times to jump out and take some photos. Caravans of cars and horse drawn carriages also rode through the neighborhoods. I didn’t realize it was such a tradition.

  
Santa and I are holding hands. He promised me something special this year for Christmas. I’ve been a VERY good girl.

Day 5:) “Pay It Forward” and Random Acts of Kindness

I met my dear friend Linda Grossman for lunch this afternoon. We were going to Nom Nom, but the line was out the door, so we scooted a few doors down to JC Burgers. While we were waiting in line to order, the ladies behind her said, “Linda, is that you?” They squealed and hugged and said, “Merry Christmas! How are you?” 

Well, as is my custom, I said, “Do I get a hug, too?” And proceeded to hug two perfect strangers. I explained that I started doing that at church when I greet before Mass. One of the ladies asked, “Where do you go to church?” Turns out we both go to St. Gabriel’s. Small world! We sat down at different table, but when Peggy had to leave, we invited Michele to join us. It took forever to get our order, so we had plenty of time to chat.

Michele asked how I knew Linda, and I told her she was a friend, but also my realtor, and how she sold my old house, found me a perfect new house, and held my hand through a very painful divorce. Then, Linda proceeded to tell her what a fabulous artist I was, and raved about my hand-painted Christmas ornaments.

That’s when the light bulb went off. This could be my random act of kindness for a stranger. I went to my car where I just so happened to have an ornament that I could personalize for her, with a paint pen that I happen to carry in my purse. (Artists are always prepared.) Michele was delighted, and she gave me another big hug.

  
Don’t you just love a lady that wears her Santa hat to lunch!

Not only did I have a fun “pay it forward” adventure, but I made another new friend along the way. I love how that works!!!

Leave a Reply

