Sunday Sermon and Day 8 “Pay It Forward” Challenge

21 Dec

There is such a special sweetness in being able to participate in creation.

– Pamela S. Nadav

**************

Today’s Gospel was the story of Mary and Elizabeth. It made me think of how very special it is to have a child, not only a blessing, but an obligation as a mother to make sure each child is loved and cared for. No one else can have that sacred bond. 

My take on it…If you are blessed with a child, you carried that child inside you, then make every moment together special. There is no greater love. If you are a child, love your mother with all your being. I love this quote… “Call your mother. Tell her you love her. Remember, you’re the only one who knows what her heart sounds like from the inside.” ~Rachel Wolchin.

LK 1:39-45
Mary set out and traveled to the hill country in haste to a town of Judah,  where she entered the house of Zechariah and greeted Elizabeth. When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, the infant leaped in her womb, and Elizabeth, filled with the Holy Spirit, cried out in a loud voice and said, “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb. And how does this happen to me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? For at the moment the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the infant in my womb leaped for joy.  Blessed are you who believed that what was spoken to you by the Lord would be fulfilled.”

  
This is the picture that was in my head during the Gospel. It seems like yesterday, not thirty years ago.

*************

Now, for my “pay it forward” update.

Day 8:) “Pay It Forward” and Random Acts of Kindness Challenge

As I’ve mentioned, I really enjoy being a greeter before 9 o’clock Mass every Sunday. Today was especially dreary, cloudy and damp, but I thought…what better day to be perky and cheery. So, I donned my biggest toothy smile, held the door open, and said “Good Morning” to hundreds of people scurrying into church. When I arrived early at 8:20, I was hoping to “random” two people with a gift of holiday chocolates. I’ve noticed this one gentleman every Sunday, and it seemed like every time I would smile and greet him, he just nodded politely and continuesd on his way. I thought, aha, he’ll be one of the recipients.  So, when I arrived, he was already inside kneeling and praying the rosary. I placed a bag with the chocolates on top of his bible on his seat behind him, then back to my greeting. He didn’t see me. Cool!

Then, while I was manning the door and smiling, I looked for a random woman recipient. Mass was about to start, but people were still scurrying inside. I saw an elderly lady shuffling towards me, with what appeared to be her granddaughter, assisting her inside. I asked the young girl if I could take their picture and handed her the chocolates. She thought I was just asking her to hold it while I took the picture. So, when she tried to hand  the box back, I said, “No, that’s for you ladies. Merry Christmas.” I had my poem taped on the box. She glanced at it and said, “Thank you!”

“A random act of kindness is a lovely way to show

 That everyone is special, even people you don’t know.

 Perhaps they’ll “pay it forward”, by going that extra mile,

 Sharing kindness in the world, giving someone else a smile.”

  
I believe they were truly surprised and delighted. Nice smiles!

It was a lovely way to start my Sunday.

2 Responses to “Sunday Sermon and Day 8 “Pay It Forward” Challenge”

  1. Brenda Davis Harsham December 21, 2015 at 12:55 pm #

    Such cute boys!

  2. agriffith1 December 21, 2015 at 4:43 pm #

    I have my boy here. So far we’ve walked around the neighborhood, seen Star Wars, sat on the patio for lunch in sparkling sunshine, cooked two evening meals together, and made chocolate chip pecan oatmeal cookies. Pay it forward? I gave Rachel who lives in a group home several leftover sodas and remaining sour candies to take back to her Christmas without family. She enjoyed her little bag of treats to have something that was hers. I will give pumpkin bread to my next door neighbors. They are a sweet and loving family. The family that plays together, stays together. I miss my friend Toni! She’s always filled with CHRISTmas spirit! Your pic of your boys is way adorable.

Leave a Reply

