Montage Monday:) and  More “Pay It Foward” Challenge

22 Dec

“In the old days, it was not called the Holiday Season; the Christians called it ‘Christmas’ and went to church; the Jews called it ‘Hanukkah’ and went to synagogue; the atheists went to parties and drank. People passing each other on the street would say ‘Merry Christmas!’ or ‘Happy Hanukkah!’ or (to the atheists) ‘Look out for the wall!” 
― Dave Barry

( A little humor from Dave Barry)

***********

Talk abput a lazy Monday. I turned off my alarm at 7:00, texted my friend that I wasn’t going to kickboxing at 8:15, and crawled back under the covers. I didn’t emerge until 12:45 in the afternoon. I wasn’t sleeping the entire time, but I didn’t feel like getting up either. I think my old weary body was trying to catch up with too many late nights followed by early mornings. It’s 7:37 p.m. and I still haven’t gotten around to eating since lunch yesterday. What do I do with my time? 

Here’s a week in a peek. I especially loved the karaoke bus trip with the Unbiological Sisters on Wednesday. Plus, every day with a new “pay it forward” challenge has been inspirational.

  
Day 9:)

Today, for my random act of kindness, I decided to take a gingerbread house kit to the children next door. We’ve been neighbor’s for over a year, but Jack and Allyson are very quiet and shy. I take brownies and cupcakes over every now and then, and they are polite and say thank you, but they aren’t very demonstrative. I guess I was so used to my adorable neighbor’s, the Reynolds. The triplets would pop over and visit, we baked, had tea parties, played games, and they were like family. They still are, I just don’t live next door anymore.

Jack answered the door, and when I said, “I brought you and Allyson a present,” his eyes lit up and he had a big smile when he saw it was a gingerbread house. I told him that they probably should build the house one day and let it set before trying to decorate it. I learned that the hard way. Who knows, maybe they’ll invite me over to help decorate it?

  
A dark picture, but you can see the smile.

Leave a Reply

