Sunday Sermon, a Special Birthday, and a Sunset

11 Jan

When the years fly by like a Texas tornado, it’s good to have strong roots, a loving family tree, and many branches of colorful friends.

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

We are all equal in the eyes of God, why not in the eyes of man?

~ Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

*********************

Wow! It was really cold here this morning. I know, if you’re up North, you’re probably thinking, “Yah, right!” But, it was only 28 degrees and windy. The only saving grace was the sun was out. So, when I went to do my greeting thing before 9 o’clock Mass, I said to myself…(I talk to myself a lot.) “I think I’ll wear my sock monkey hat today, and really make people smile.” I didn’t put it on at first, but I got really cold and thought, what the heck, it’s my birthday, and if you can’t be silly on your birthday, when can you? 

  
The kids all thought it was cool, and a lot of folks just said, “Nice hat,” and giggled on their way in the door. Mission accomplished!

*****************

Gospel, Luke 3:15-16, 21-22

Today’s Gospel was about the baptism of Jesus by John. The sermon was about how Jesus walked with the crowd and was baptized like everyone else, not seeking special attention.

My take on it… We all have our mission in life, our goals, our dreams. We don’t need flashing lights and marching bands to proclaim our good deeds. We are all equal in the eyes of God, why not in the eyes of man.  Just be good to one another, be honest, loyal, loving and kind. 

****************

After Mass, I stopped at Sprouts to pick up some groceries, then stopped at Bonita’s house to wish her a happy birthday because we share the same birthday. Birthday sisters!

Then, I did my famous drive by. I called Sherry Murphy and said, “What ya doin’? Are you home?” She said she was just lounging around at home, then she asked, “Where are you?” I replied, “In your driveway!” She said, “Come on in!” (I do this to her all the time.) We chatted a while and she asked what I was doing special for my birthday. I didn’t have any plans, so she said, “Let’s do something!” Sherri put on her shoes and coat, and we went to the square for lunch. Don’t you just love friends that will just drop what their doing for you? Plus, they buy you lunch. 

  
We ran into our good friend, Laura Bartlett at Snug on the Square. (Laura, Sherri, and moi.) Her “Four Funny Females” show was on Saturday at MPAC, and her sister was in town visiting.  That’s what I love about McKinney, you always bump into friends.

 
(Forgot) Last night, I had stopped in Sweet Spot Bakery and visited with Kathy. Selfie time! Friends everywhere!

Today, after lunch, I came home, changed, flittered away time on Facebook, then went for a frigid walk. But, the  sunset was amazing and well worth the frostbite. My friend Jim told me how to get different exposures on my iPhone by just tapping and holding different lights and darks on the screen for better quality images. Did you know that? I didn’t. Pretty cool!

Here’s my sunset shots for tonight.

   

  

Amazing! A beautiful day, a spectacular sunset, wonderful friends, a fabulous birthday. Happy birthday to me! Yes, I’m 29…again…a couple of times plus some. 

6 Responses to “Sunday Sermon, a Special Birthday, and a Sunset”

  1. dancingpalmtrees January 11, 2016 at 1:46 pm #

    Nice Birthday hat. Warm and fashionable at the same time!! I very seldom wear hats even though it gets really cold in New York but I do have one winter dinosaur cap.

  2. Deanne January 11, 2016 at 2:52 pm #

    Happy Birthday Tonight!!! Wishing you love, peace and happiness 💞💞💞

  3. Deanne January 11, 2016 at 2:54 pm #

    I meant Happy Birthday Toni!

    • toniandrukaitis January 11, 2016 at 4:51 pm #

      Thank you so much for the birthday wishes. So nice to know I have a friend in New York and you have one in McKinney. Perhaps you should don your winter dinosaur cap one cold and blustery day, and feel silly, and laugh,mand think of me. Of course, and write about it, too. Bit, maybe in New York it wouldn’t appear too unconventional.

  4. Katie Clooney January 11, 2016 at 8:29 pm #

    I love reading your blog Toni because I get to see all my old favorite places in beautiful Mckinney! Have a very happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

