Tuesday:) Tales of a Talisman

20 Jan

“If you don’t believe in luck, you won’t have any. If you don’t believe that dreams can come true, they won’t. You are what you believe.

~Toni Amenta Andrukaitis

*************

“All that is necessary to break the spell of inertia and frustration is this: Act as if it were impossible to fail. That is the talisman, the formula, the command of right-about-face which turns us from failure towards success.”

Dorothea Brande

*************

The definition of a talisman is described below. I find lucky pennies or lucky feathers, and I use them  as a personal talisman. I always seem to find them when I need them. For me, the penny symbolizes, not wealth necessarily, but that things will be OK and will work out for the best. I feel that the feather represents the wings of courage, the ability to fly and soar when I might be feeling sad and earthbound, perhaps even angel wings guiding and protecting. A talisman is only what you make of it. Magical powers.

talisman

tal·is·man\ˈta-ləs-mən, -ləz-\noun

: an object (such as a ring or stone) that is believed to have magic powers and to cause good things to happen to the person who has it

Full Definition

1 : an object held to act as a charm to avert evil and bring good fortune

2 : something producing apparently magical or miraculous effects

**************

This afternoon on my walk, I found a lucky feather almost hidden in the thick winter  grass. I needed the reassurance of the feather talisman today. I found it. It was a good day.

   
 
“If you don’t believe in luck, you won’t have any. If you don’t believe that dreams can come true, they won’t. You are what you believe.
~Toni Amenta Andrukaitis

Leave a Reply

