Tuesday:) Taking Chances

26 Jan

“Taking chances doesn’t mean you are brave. It means you are too scared to stand still.”

~Toni Armenta Andrukaitis

**********************

Taking chances, trying new things, meeting new people, and all the other adventures that are flung at us on this hastily revolving planet, these are all part of life. Granted, some things may be awful, painful, or scary, but then again, some may be wonderful. You don’t know until you try.

Personally, I don’t like seafood. I’ve tasted different types of fish, yuck! I’ve tried to convince myself that I could like it, but I detest the taste, odor, appearance, well, I just hate it. But, I tried! I don’t like coffee either. It smells like skunk to me, and the taste is like bitter medicine, and it upsets my stomach. But, I tried it. We all have different palettes, and different tastes.

I’ve tried a lot of new things in the past few years. Some things I was forced to learn and experience as a result of a devastating divorce. But, after thirty-nine years of marriage, I was too scared to stand still. So, I bought a new house, started a new life, and learned to take care of myself. Granted, I had a lot of help and support along the way, but it was scary, none the less. 

Only my close personal friends know why taking a bubble bath on my birthday was a scary adventure, but I did it! Note: I am terrified of water. Baths, pools, lakes, oceans, yikes! They all make me nervous. I took a chance, (I also took a glass of wine) and I didn’t drown. I was very proud of myself. Maybe I’ll take another bath…next year…on my birthday.

  
 I have been blessed with so many old, true, and loving friends, and a wonderful family. And, I’ve  met some wonderful people, and made some new friends along my journey. How lucky am I?

  
 I’ll keep trying new things, meeting new people, and taking chances. “I’m too scared to stand still.”

 
 
  

2 Responses to “Tuesday:) Taking Chances”

  1. Quan January 27, 2016 at 4:54 am #

    Thanks for the quote. I needed that today.

    • toniandrukaitis January 27, 2016 at 5:03 am #

      Well, thank you. Life certainly is an adventure, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

