Wednesday:) What’s Cookin’ Miss Toni?

24 Mar

“Nice people don’t necessarily fall in love with nice people.” ― Jonathan Franzen, Freedom

***********************

Day seven of the tooth from H-E- Double Hockey Sticks! The good news is my mouth, jaw, and raw gums are feeling a little better. The bad news is…its just a little, and has a long way to go. You can only drink so many smoothies and shakes before you start getting snarky. I WANT A HAMBURGER AND FRIES! ME WANT COOKIES!

  
This evening was week four of our St. Gabriel Divorced and Separated Support Group. I’ve been bringing brownies and/or cookies every week. Why? Because I like to bake and share and make people happy with massive quantities of useless sugar. That’s me.

We have a very good group of people going through different phases of pain, heartbreak, and adjustment. I really appreciate the moral support that I receive, but more importantly, I think that I am in a much better and happier place than I was two years ago, when my life was raw and in upheaval. Now, I can share my insights, triumphs, joys, progress, and massive quantities of sugar, with others. I’m a nice person. I’ve always been and will always be a nice person. “Nice people don’t necessarily fall in love with nice people.” But, that ship has sailed. Open waters and clear sailing now.

With my sore mouth and nagging headache, I didn’t feel like baking, so I rummaged in the freezer and found my pre-packaged lemon cake balls and brownie bites that I was saving for a rainy day. (It’s raining now) I melted white chocolate and dipped the lemon ones, then melted dark chocolate and dipped the brownie ones. I confess…I endured the pain and sampled each one by leaning my head to the right and chewing very carefully avoiding the left side. A few cringes and yelps ensued, but worth the agony.They were yummy!
  
Today was a good day. I got home from church safe and sound before the storm started pelting away. Life is good! 

Leave a Reply

